Master of Science (MS)


Electrical and Computer Engineering

Document Type



Time-frequency signal analysis has been widely applied in the modern radar, acoustic, sonar and ultrasonic signal processing techniques. Recently, the nondestructive testing (NDT) techniques via the ultrasonic instrumentation have shown the striking capability of the quality control for the material fabrication industry. In this thesis, we first provide a general mathematical model for the ultrasonic signals collected by pulse-echo sensors and then design a totally blind, novel, signal processing NDT technique relying on neither a priori signal information nor any manual effort. The signature signal can be blindly extracted by using the automatic optimal frame size selection for further modeling and characterization of the ultrasonic signal using Gabor analysis. This modeled signature signal is used for multiridge detection and for reconstruction of the signal. The detected ridge information can be used to estimate the transmission and attenuation coefficients, shear modulus, and Young’s modulus associated with any arbitrary material sample for fabrication quality control. Thus, our algorithm can be applied for ultrasonic signal characterization and ridge detection in non-destructive testing for new material fabrication. Experimental results show that the ridge detection performance by our proposed method is superior to that of the existing techniques.



Document Availability at the Time of Submission

Secure the entire work for patent and/or proprietary purposes for a period of one year. During this period the copyright owner also agrees not to exercise her/his ownership rights, including public use in works, without prior authorization from LSU. At the end of the one year period, either we or LSU may request an automatic extension for one additional year. At the end of the one year secure period (or its extension, if such is requested), the work will be handled under option 1 above, unless we request option 2 or 4 in writing.

Committee Chair

Hsiao-Chun Wu