Master of Science in Electrical Engineering (MSEE)


Electrical and Computer Engineering

Document Type



The Shipboard Power System (SPS) supply energy to sophisticated systems for navigation, communication, weapons, and operation. Due to the ship’s critical operating condition, faults can be very detrimental. Faults in the SPS may happen because of failure of electrical components or by damages that happen during a battle. These faults may interrupt the paths for supplying energy to loads that are not damaged. To enhance survivability of naval ships, SPS requires an efficient fault location algorithm in order to locate and clear the fault as well as provide an alternative path to supply energy to the loads that are not faulty or damaged. This thesis introduces a method to generalize the Active Impedance Estimation (AIE) fault location method for Shipboard Power Systems (SPS.) In the proposed method short-duration high-frequency voltage sources are employed at selected buses and voltage/current measurements are taken for the purpose of fault location. The goal is to obtain the minimum number of voltage and current sources and measurements that observe all the faults of interest that occur in the SPS. In contrast with the conventional AIE method, in the proposed fault location method both sources and measurements are applied at multiple buses. Moreover, both voltage and current are measured at measurement buses. The proposed approach is not restricted to lateral branches and can be applied to interconnected SPSs. The fault location method does not interfere with the system’s normal operation due to the applied high frequency(s) and thus superposition is used in the analysis. This approach reduces the number of measurement devices for fault location in the SPS which results in significant cost reduction. The proposed method is then applied to a SPS in simulation using MATLAB/Simulink to show the effectiveness of the approach.



Document Availability at the Time of Submission

Release the entire work immediately for access worldwide.

Committee Chair

Mehraeen, Shahab