Master of Science (MS)



Document Type



This work is focused on the design, synthesis and characterization of block copolymers (BCPs) containing both conjugated and polyelectrolyte blocks. This type of rod-coil BCP is considered to have microphase separation which is different compared to coil-coil BCPs. The conjugated block used for studies is regioregular poly(3-alkylthiophene) (P3AT), which can be synthesized by Grignard metathesis (GRIM) polymerization. The polyelectrolyte block used is polystyrene sulfonate with well-defined structure, which can be synthesized by atom transfer radical polymerization (ATRP). Chapter II is focused on evaluation of synthetic routes for P3EHT-b-PSS, including using bifunctional initiator to synthesize both blocks, and separately synthesizing end-functionalized polymer blocks for Cu-Catalyzed Azide-Alkyne Cycloaddition (CuAAC). The advantages and disadvantages of these synthetic routes were summarized to find the best to synthesize P3EHT-b-PSS. Chapter III is focus on the detailed synthesis of propynyl-terminated P3EHT and azido-terminated PNSS, which are the two blocks used for CuAAC to synthesize P3EHT-b-PNSS. The optimum conditions for synthesizing both blocks were found. This synthetic route can achieve better MW, PDI and end-group control compared to other reported synthetic attempts for similar end-group functionalities. CuAAC was also tried to synthesize P3EHT-b-PNSS by using previously mentioned polymer blocks.



Document Availability at the Time of Submission

Secure the entire work for patent and/or proprietary purposes for a period of one year. Student has submitted appropriate documentation which states: During this period the copyright owner also agrees not to exercise her/his ownership rights, including public use in works, without prior authorization from LSU. At the end of the one year period, either we or LSU may request an automatic extension for one additional year. At the end of the one year secure period (or its extension, if such is requested), the work will be released for access worldwide.

Committee Chair

Zhang, Donghui



Included in

Chemistry Commons