Date of Award


Document Type


Degree Name

Doctor of Musical Arts (DMA)



First Advisor

Larry B. Campbell


The purpose of this study is to reconstruct Gustave Mahler's Symphony No.5, Adagietto, for trombone and piano and to discuss the procedure of the reconstruction. This paper is divided into four chapters. In the first chapter, there are three main introductory materials. First, definitions taken from different sources of the musical terms arrangement and transcription are given to show how inconsistently those two terms are used and to show why the writer decided to use a third term reconstruction. Second, a brief background on Mahler and his fifth symphony is provided. Third, the importance of comparing sources is discussed. In the second chapter, different sources of Adagietto are compared and contrasted. The main sources discussed in this chapter are the autograph manuscript, the first edition published in 1904, and the 1964 edition of Symphony No.5. In the third chapter, examples of reconstruction of orchestral music for piano are presented using Franz Liszt's works. Two pieces studied were Liszt's reconstructions of Wagner's Overture to Tannhauser and Saint-Saens' Danse Macabre. The following points were examined: articulation, dynamics, phrasing, expression marks, meters, pedaling indications, added measures, and notes and rhythm. In the final chapter, the procedures of reconstructing the Adagietto for trombone and piano are discussed. The five main sections of this chapter are discussion of orchestration, counterpoint, dynamics, creativity, and elements that should be retained. The piano score and the trombone part of the reconstruction are given at the end of the written document.