Date of Award


Document Type


Degree Name

Doctor of Musical Arts (DMA)



First Advisor

Bruce Heim


Dame Ethel Smyth's Concerto for Violin, Horn, and Orchestra (1927) is a welcome addition to the horn concerto repertory. Moreover, Smyth's "Double Concerto" has the added distinction of being the first significant piece for horn by a female composer. The Double Concerto was first performed May 5, 1927, in the Queens Hall, London by the renowned Aubrey Brain, horn, and Jelly d'Aranyi, violin, with Sir Henry Wood conducting. The Concerto consists of three movements, each featuring beautiful thematic material that is expanded and exchanged between the two soloists and within the orchestra. The Finale is a heroic movement that makes use of hunting motives, a style of horn writing popular since at least the time of Georg Philipp Telemann. This monograph will focus on preparation strategies for performing the horn part of Smyth's Concerto. The first chapter will provide biographical and historical information on Ethel Smyth and her Double Concerto. The second chapter will provide an analysis to help assist the performer in understanding the piece. It will include a discussion of topics such as form, harmony, motives, and rhythms. The third chapter will be a practical guide for the horn player. It will provide teaching methods and exercises for developing multiphonic techniques, suggestions for coping with the awkward passages marked con sordino, as well as a variety of alternate fingerings for stopping. A description of Aubrey Brain's instrument and sound will suggest an appropriate timbre for this piece and a discussion of seating arrangements will address issues of balance.