Date of Award


Document Type


Degree Name

Doctor of Musical Arts (DMA)



First Advisor

Jack Guerry


Bela Bartok (1881-1945) was a professor of piano at the Academy of Music in Budapest for twenty-seven years. During that time he was also actively engaged in editing works by Bach, Scarlatti, Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Schumann, Chopin, and Liszt. His Hungarian publishers were Rozsnyai, Rozsavolgyi, and Bard; others were Breitkopf and Hartel, and Carl Fischer. Bartok's edition of Mozart's piano sonatas was first published by Rozsnyai in 1910-12 and later reprinted by Editio Musica Budapest and Kalmus. As a part of Rozsnyai's Instruktive Ausgabe klassicher Klavierwerke series, Bartok's edition was instructive; therefore, it contains many editorial additions such as articulation markings, dynamics, tempo modifications, metronome markings, fingerings, pedaling, ornament realizations, and suggestions involving matters of interpretation. He also provided a basic formal analysis by indicating the beginnings of each major structural section. Many editors of the nineteenth century frequently altered the composers' text in all of its parameters without indicating their changes and/or additions. Unlike those editors, Bartok presented most of the text as it appeared in his source edition, making his editorial additions clear by using smaller print. This study examines Bartok's editorial work, providing evidence about his playing and teaching of Mozart. The first chapter, an introduction, briefly discusses Bartok's editorial activities, establishes his sources for the Mozart edition, discusses his editorial style, and the order of sonatas as they appear in his edition. The next two chapters examine Bartok's articulation and dynamics. In Chapters IV and V Bartok's expression markings, tempo modifications, and pedaling are discussed. His metronome markings, fingerings, ornament realizations, and formal analyses are investigated in Chapter VI. A summary of the research and recommendations for further studies are included in Chapter VII.