Doctor of Musical Arts (DMA)


School of Music

Document Type



George Enesco (1881-1955) was one of the most important musical personalities, fascinating and diverse of the XX Century. Acclaimed as a composer, appreciated as a conductor, and considered an example of the highest order of violin playing, he performed throughout Europe, Russia, and North America. His compositional legacy succeeded in incorporating a wide variety of genres: chamber music for strings, wind and voice, instrumental solo concertos, symphonies, and operas, Oedipe being one of the most acclaimed. The purpose of this paper is to explain the process of transcribing Enesco’s Violin and Piano Sonata No. 2 in F minor Op. 6 and to create a new edition of this music available for cello and piano. A performance in this new form will be presented in the lecture recital. This particular composition was chosen because of its importance in Enesco’s own canon, as turning point in his developmental style. The paper consists of three chapters. Chapter one will presents an overview of Enesco’s life and work, focusing on some of the most important moments of his career. This chapter will also attempt to identify compositions that define his style and will discuss those works that actually were intended for cello. Chapter two will analyze the technical and compositional aspects of form, structure, and style, while also highlighting the importance of this music in Enesco’s output. Chapter three explains the process of transcription from violin to cello and the technical elements that should be taken in consideration in order to preserve the musical integrity of the original score. It will also demonstrate certain manners by which one can overcome the difficulties of the violin notation when played on the cello. Naturally, certain technical aspects differ from violin to cello including different use of fingerings, acoustic and register changes, etc.

Committee Chair

Parker, Dennis