Doctor of Musical Arts (DMA)



Document Type



Born in Hondarribia, in the Basque country of Spain on November 13, 1949, Javier Busto is one of the most recognized composers of that area. This research introduces the composer and his music. The document briefly presents events of his life that promoted his advancement as a composer, with particular attention to his composition "Missa pro Defunctis" (1997). The work was commissioned by the Kobe Chuo Chorus of Japan as a community response to an internationally recognized catastrophe, the terrible earthquake in Kobe, Japan on January 18, 1995. It represents significant creative energy in the organization and development of Busto’s musical ideas, is one of his most significant compositions and is scored for SATB choir, and Soprano and Baritone soloists accompanied by B-flat Clarinet. Approximately 30 minutes in length, the work includes nine movements with the final movement set in Japanese. "Missa pro Defunctis" reflects great sensitivity to the commissioned text through the development of motives and harmonies that heighten the textual meaning and expression through the compositional process. This document is intended as an aid for conductors to familiarize themselves with the composer Javier Busto as well as assisting in the preparation of this work for study and performance. Thus, the detailed conductor’s analysis of the work’s structure and style and performance suggestions provided at the end of each movement may serve as a guide for conductors and performers. A complete list of Busto’s choral compositions is included in Appendix A. The majority of his works may be ordered from bustovega publishing which is run by his wife, Maria Luisa Vega.



Document Availability at the Time of Submission

Release the entire work immediately for access worldwide.

Committee Chair

Kenneth Fulton



Included in

Music Commons