Doctor of Musical Arts (DMA)



Document Type



 Born in Riga, the capital of Latvia, on February 28, 1964, Rihards Dubra is one of the emerging composers of the great Baltic choral tradition. The scope of this research is to provide an introduction to the Latvian composer's music and a conductor's analysis of selected Latin motets. Works to be examined include: Salve Regina (1992) SSAATTBB Gloria patri (1992) SSAATTBB Oculus non vidit (1993) SSATTB Ave Maria (1994) SSAATTB Veni sancte Spiritus (1994) SATB Rorate caeli (1996) SSAATB (with ST soli) Veni Creator Spiritus (1998) SATB Magnificat (2000) SSATB The research is divided into three chapters. The first chapter is entitled, "The Influence of Tradition," and will briefly explore the influences on Dubra's style including Latvian folk music, early music, and the music of the Holy Minimalists (John Tavener, Henryk Gorecki, and Arvo Pärt). This chapter will also provide important working definitions for terms that will be used in chapter three; these terms include minimalism, holy minimalism, drone, ostinati, etc. Chapter Two is entitled, "Rihards Dubra: The Man and His Music," and will contain biographical, repertoire, and stylistic information. The final chapter, "The Style of Meditation: A Conductor's Analysis of Selected Latin Motets," will analyze the previously mentioned a cappella motets with consideration given to style, techniques, and pedagogy. Rihards Dubra's music can be classified in many ways, Neo-Medievalism, Holy Minimalism, or by his own words "the style of meditation." It is not by astoundingly well spun melodic lines or amazingly complex harmonic structures that Dubra's music is propelled, it is in the simple juxtaposition and superimposition of motives, carefully planned repetition with subtle changes, masses of chordal sound supported by long pedals, the fascinating yet basic rhythm of speech, and the beauty of the human voice that breathes life into Dubra's music.



Document Availability at the Time of Submission

Release the entire work immediately for access worldwide.

Committee Chair

Kenneth Fulton



Included in

Music Commons