Louisiana State University LSU Scholarly Repository

LSU Faculty Senate Publications

LSU Faculty Senate

12-8-2004

Faculty Senate Resolution 05-05

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College

Follow this and additional works at: https://repository.lsu.edu/senate-pubs

Recommended Citation

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College. (2004). Faculty Senate Resolution 05-05. Retrieved from https://repository.lsu.edu/senate-pubs/317

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the LSU Faculty Senate at LSU Scholarly Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in LSU Faculty Senate Publications by an authorized administrator of LSU Scholarly Repository. For more information, please contact ir@lsu.edu.

LSU Faculty Senate Resolution 05-05:

Thanking and Commending Professor McGehee, and Endorsing the Creation of the McGehee Award

Whereas Professor O. Carruth McGehee has served the LSU Faculty Senate in several capacities: Senator, 1985, 1992-1995, and 2001-2003; Senate Executive Committee, 1992-1993, and 2001-2004; Senate Vice-President, 2002-2003; Senate President, 2003-2004; and Senate Parliamentarian, Fall 2004; and

Whereas Professor McGehee has served LSU in many other ways, including as Chair of the Ad Hoc PS-36 Revision Committee (2002-2004), during which the committee has produced a greatly improved draft of a new PS-36 for tenured and tenure-track faculty, and a new policy on instructors; as redesigner of the Senate's standing committees and as creator of the Educational Policy Committee (2004); as a member of the Senate Committee (1997-2000), and many other committees; and as the main faculty advocate and facilitator for the implementation of undergraduate admissions standards in the 1980's; and

Whereas as an LSU faculty member since 1971, Professor McGehee has made many important contributions to mathematics, including his 1981 proof (along with coauthors Louis Pigno and Brent Smith) of the celebrated, 1948 Littlewood Conjecture in Fourier analysis, bringing worldwide attention to LSU's Department of Mathematics; and

Whereas he has served LSU with distinction as Dean of the Division of Academic Services (1986-1990), and as Chairman of the Department of Mathematics (1979-1984); and

Whereas Professor McGehee is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and has received the AMOCO Award for Teaching in 1980, the LSU "Hub" Cotton Award for Faculty Excellence in 2003, and the Mathematics Department Service Award in 2004; and

Whereas Professor McGehee retires from LSU in December 2004;

Therefore be it resolved that the LSU Faculty Senate commends and thanks Professor McGehee for his numerous and valuable contributions to LSU and the Senate; endorses the creation of the "McGehee Award" in his honor; and conveys its best wishes to him and to members of his family in his retirement.